Logo PTB
Panoramic view of the clock hall at PTB with the four caesium clocks CS1, CS2, CSF1 and CSF2.

Unit of Time

Working Group 4.41


The working group develops and operates primary atomic caesium clocks  as standards of time and frequency,  according to the definition of the unit of time “Second” stated within the International System of Units (SI). The ensemble of clocks built at PTB consists of the conventional caesium clocks with thermal atom beam CS1 and CS2 and of the modern caesium fountain clocks CSF1 and CSF2 (German national standard for time and frequency), based on laser-cooled atoms. The latter belong to the world’s most accurate atomic clocks.

One major task is the utilization of these four primary caesium atomic clocks for the realization of the national reference time scale UTC(PTB), in collaboration with the working group Dissemination of Time. Another major task are frequent clock contributions for the steering of International Atomic Time (TAI) by the BIPM (Bureau International des Poids et Mesures), to ensure the worldwide agreement of reference time scales.

To top


The performance of a primary clock is characterised by the physical quantities frequency stability and systematic frequency uncertainty. On the other hand, it is expressed by its availability time and its reliability. The working group is continually improving the clock performance in all these fields by research and further development. As a result, the fountain clocks CSF1 and CSF2 belong to the world’s foremost atomic clocks, which are a handful of caesium fountain clocks in the major national metrology institutes.

By repeated measurements of absolute optical frequencies in collaboration with the working group Optical Clocks with Trapped Ions the working group 4.41 is involved in research on potential temporal variations of fundamental constants, which are predicted by various theories unifying the fundamental interactions.

An important upcoming project is the scheduled comparison of the PTB fountain clocks with fountain clocks in other countries by making use of the Atomic Clock Ensemble in Space (ACES), which is expected to go on board of the International Space Station (ISS) in 2017.

It is anticipated that this project will achieve an unprecedented accuracy for remote caesium fountain clock comparisons.

To top


By steering of the national reference time scale UTC(PTB), the primary atomic clocks constitute the basis for PTB’s  time services. Likewise by their TAI steering contributions, the frequency stability and accuracy of International Atomic Time is supported.

Moreover, the fountain clocks of the working group 4.41 offer the possibility of measurements of absolute frequencies at the highest accuracy. The fountain clocks serve, on the one hand, to control other atomic clocks. On the other hand, they provide valuable assistance for the development of future, even more accurate optical clocks. For this purpose absolute measurements of optical transition frequencies, which come into consideration for a future redefinition of the unit of time, are performed by the fountain clocks. This work is done in collaboration with the working groups Optical Clocks with Trapped Ions and Optical Lattice Clocks at PTB.

Beyond that, in collaboration with the working group Frequency Dissemination with Fibres, the PTB fountain clocks were also used for absolute measurements of optical transition frequencies at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics in Garching (DE) and at the Leibniz University in Hanover (DE), by making use of long-haul optical fibre connections.

To top


To top

Logo PTB
Panoramablick in die Uhrenhalle der PTB mit den vier Caesiumuhren CS1, CS2, CSF1 und CSF2.

Zeitnormale

Arbeitsgruppe 4.41

Profil

Die Arbeitsgruppe entwickelt und betreibt primäre Caesium-Atomuhren als Normale für Zeit und Frequenz gemäß der im Internationalen Einheitensystem (SI) festgelegten Definition der Zeiteinheit „Sekunde“. Das Ensemble der an der PTB gebauten Uhren  bilden einerseits die konventionellen Caesium-Uhren CS1 und CS2 mit einem thermischen Atomstrahl und andererseits die modernen Caesium-Fontänenuhren CSF1 und CSF2 (Nationales Normal für Zeit und Frequenz) mit lasergekühlten Atomen, die weltweit zu den genauesten  Atomuhren gehören.

Als Hauptaufgaben werden mit diesen vier primären Caesium-Atomuhren die nationale Referenzzeitskala UTC(PTB) gemeinsam mit der Arbeitsgruppe Zeitübertragung realisiert und regelmäßige Beiträge zur Steuerung der Internationalen Atomzeit TAI durch das  BIPM (Bureau International des Poids et Mesures) geleistet, um eine Übereinstimmung der Referenzzeitskalen weltweit zu gewährleisten.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Die Qualität einer primären Atomuhr lässt sich einerseits durch die physikalischen Größen Frequenzstabilität und systematische Frequenzunsicherheit charakterisieren. Andererseits drückt sie sich aus durch eine hohe zeitliche Verfügbarkeit und Zuverlässigkeit. Die Arbeitsgruppe forscht und arbeitet fortwährend an Verbesserungen in diesen Bereichen. Die Fontänenuhren CSF1 und CSF2 gehören in allen genannten Bereichen zur Weltspitze, die aus etwa einer Handvoll Fontänenuhren in wenigen großen nationalen Metrologieinstituten gebildet wird.

Durch wiederholte Absolutmessungen optischer Frequenzen in Zusammenarbeit mit der Arbeitsgruppe Optische Uhren mit gespeicherten Ionen ist die Arbeitsgruppe 4.41 an Untersuchungen zu möglichen zeitlichen Variationen von Naturkonstanten beteiligt, die von verschiedenen Theorien über die Vereinigung der Fundamentalkräfte vorhergesagt werden.

Ein wichtiges Projekt ist der für die nahe Zukunft geplante Vergleich der PTB-Fontänenuhren mit den besten Fontänenuhren in anderen Ländern über das Atomic Clock Ensemble in Space (ACES), das im Jahr 2017 an Bord der Internationalen Raumstation ISS gebracht werden soll. Erwartet werden Frequenzvergleiche zwischen entfernt liegenden Fontänenuhren mit bislang unerreichter Genauigkeit.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Die primären Atomuhren bilden mit der Steuerung  der nationalen Referenzzeitskala UTC(PTB) die Basis für alle Zeitdienste der PTB und tragen darüber hinaus zur Stabilität und Genauigkeit der Internationalen Atomzeit TAI bei.

Außerdem bieten die Fontänenuhren der Arbeitsgruppe 4.41 die Möglichkeit, Absolutfrequenzmessungen höchster Genauigkeit durchzuführen. Damit dienen sie  zur Kontrolle anderer Atomuhren und leisten wertvolle Hilfestellung bei der Entwicklung zukünftiger, noch genauerer optischer Atomuhren. Dazu werden Absolutmessungen optischer Übergangsfrequenzen, die in Zukunft für eine Neudefinition der Zeiteinheit in Frage kommen, mit Hilfe der Fontänenuhren durchgeführt. Dieses geschieht in Zusammenarbeit mit den Arbeitsgruppen Optische Uhren mit gespeicherten Ionen und Optische Gitteruhren an der PTB.

Darüber hinaus wurden mit den Fontänenuhren der PTB und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Arbeitsgruppe Frequenzübertragung mit Glasfasern auch Absolutmessungen optischer Übergangsfrequenzen am Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik in Garching und an der Leibniz Universität Hannover über optische Langstrecken-Faserverbindungen durchgeführt.

Nach oben

Informationen

Nach oben