Logo PTB

Optical Lattice Clocks

Working Group 4.32


The working group studies the interaction of atoms and ultra-stable laser light with respect to its applications for highly precise measurements and optical atomic clocks based on neutral atoms.

To top


Optical atomic clocks are considered the future of atomic clocks. An oscillation located in the visible spectrum of light servers as their ‘pendulum’, i.e., the periodic oscillation that is at the very heart of every clock. Working at 10 000 to 100 000 times the frequency of microwave radiation used by caesium atomic clocks, they offer significant improvement of accuracy, stability, and reliability

In an optical lattice clock, strontium (or similar) atoms are confined to the interference pattern of two laser beams. In this so-called ‘optical lattice’ the oscillatory frequency of the atomic ‘pendulum’, which is the absorption frequency of the atoms, can be determined extremely accurately – allowing it to be measured to the 18th decimal place at present.

Figure 1:  Schematic view of an optical lattice. Atoms are trapped in the intensity maxima of the standing wave forming the optical lattice. At the ‘magic wavelength’ both states of the clock transition experience the same energy shift by the trapping light, allowing observation of the undisturbed transition.

In the International System of Units, the oscillatory frequency of the isotope 87Sr has already been adopted as a ‘secondary representation’ of the unit of time, and its value, ν0 = 429 228 004 229 873.2 Hz, is known with an uncertainty of 0.22 Hz – limited solely by the primary caesium clocks that realize the unit of time. In fact, this means that optical clocks must be compared directly among each other in order to fully leverage their accuracy.

The working group develops and operates two optical lattice clocks based on strontium atoms. At the first of these clocks, the central goals are to continuously improve the accuracy and stability of strontium clocks as well as to implement new technology and novel techniques. In contrast to this laboratory-scale clock, which is stationary and can only be operated at PTB, the second clock is transportable and allows measurement campaigns at various locations, e.g., at other research institutes. Designing the clock we aimed for achieving sufficient improvement of compactness and robustness to allow for convenient transporting of the clock while retaining the accuracy and stability typical of a lab-sized optical atomic clock to the largest possible extent.

Each of our clocks is involved in numerous collaborative research projects and used for a broad range of research applications. For instance, comparisons of diverse as well as remote optical clocks are both essential steps towards a re-definition of the ‘second’. We contribute to such comparisons with our strontium clocks, in close cooperation with other working groups (e.g., 4.34, 4.41, 4.42, and 4.43) and the QUEST institute at PTB as well as other partners from Europe and beyond. Furthermore, optical clocks are now used to address the ‘grand questions’ of modern physics, such as a unified theory of general relativity and quantum physics, and in other applications like relativistic geodesy, where relativistic effects are used to explore gravitational fields.


As a member of various research projects, our working group works with partners and fellow researchers at PTB, Leibniz University Hannover, their joint Centre for Quantum and Space Time Research, the European Space Agency, from industry as well as other national metrology and research institutes worldwide.

Fundamentals and Applications of Ultra-cold Matter

The Research Training Group 1729 consists of research groups at PTB and Leibniz University Hannover from the fields of metrology, quantum optics, atomic and molecular physics. Research within the training group is focussed on the fundamental properties and applications of ultracold gases, and some of its main goals are to involve young researchers in research at the forefront of their fields and to provide them with excellent training opportunities through courses and lectures given by renowned international guests and further a broad as well as deep understanding of the fields of research.

International Timescales with Optical Clocks

As a member of the project ITOC of the European Metrology Research Programme (EMRP), we investigate the requirements that have to be met in order to realize a future SI base unit ‘second’ with optical clocks. Therefore, we perform extensive comparisons of optical clocks and work on the development of transportable clocks to serve as so-called ‘transfer standards’.

Quantum Engineered States for Optical Clocks and Atomic Sensors

QESOCAS is another project within the EMRP, which aims at employing advanced quantum technologies to enhance the performance of optical clocks. Close collaboration with university research groups that are leading in the field of entanglement of atomic ensembles and its use for spectroscopic purposes is at its core.

Space Optical Clocks 2

In SOC2 we develop a highly compact and energy-efficient strontium lattice clock as part of a large European consortium. In doing so we are advancing the technology of optical clocks towards space readiness. SOC is also a so-called ‘candidate mission’ for the International Space Station (ISS), competing with other candidates missions for bringing the clock onto the ISS.

Optical Clocks 18

Building on our work from the ITOC project, the OC18 project of the European Metrology Programme for Innovation and Research (EMPIR) will be focussed on reducing the fractional uncertainties of optical clocks into the low 10-18 regime. In particular, our working group is going to build and operate a cryogenic strontium lattice clock, wherein the leading frequency shift in room temperature clocks, which arises from the atoms’ interaction with the thermal radiation field of their environment, is nearly eliminated.

Initial Training Network FACT

In the Initial Training Network Future Atomic Clock Technology, our partners from the research and industry sectors and we work on advancing optical clock technologies towards commercial use and future applications. Providing training and networking opportunities to early stage researchers is among the central means to achieve these goals.

Bachelor/Master/Doctoral ThesesBachelor/Master/Doctoral Theses

A list of the doctoral theses completed in our working group can be found on our publications page. If you are interested in a doctoral or master’s thesis work in our group, please submit an application.

To top


This working group does not offer any services. Services offered by the department or other working groups are detailed on their respective web pages.

To top


Stationary Clock

By performing a highly accurate evaluation of the frequency shift of the clock transition due to the ambient black-body radiation (BBR) field, we have been able to reduce the uncertainty of the strontium lattice clock at PTB to few parts in 1017. (see also publications). Today, the results are used by all groups operating strontium lattice clocks to determine the BBR-induced uncertainties of their clocks. We are currently working on further reducing the major uncertainty contributions by evaluating and controlling frequency-changing effects in the clock.

Comparing our frequency standard to the primary standards at PTB and to other optical clock enables us to investigate fundamental questions, such as potential variations of constants.

Transportable Clock

Since optical clocks have surpassed primary clocks in accuracy, they need to be compared directly among each other to exploit their full accuracy. At present, remote clock comparisons can be performed either via fibre links or using a transportable clock as a transfer standard.

Beyond their immediate applications in metrology, the development of transportable optical clock is of great interest for fundamental research using clocks in space, and we plan to use our transportable clock for applications in geodesy, where frequency difference of two clocks located at different heights, i.e., the gravitational red shift, is measured. We aim for height resolution below 10 cm, which corresponds to a fractional frequency difference below 1 part in 1017, in the long run.

To top

Logo PTB

Optische Gitteruhren

Arbeitsgruppe 4.32

Profil

Die Arbeitsgruppe behandelt die Wechselwirkungen von Atomen mit dem Licht von ultrastabilen Lasern im Hinblick auf Anwendungen für hochgenaue Messungen und optische Atomuhren mit neutralen Atomen.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Optische Atomuhren sind die Uhren der Zukunft. Ihr „Pendel“, also der regelmäßige Schwingungsvorgang, den jede Uhr braucht, ist eine Schwingung im Bereich sichtbaren Lichts. Weil dessen Frequenz 10 000- bis 100 000-fach höher ist als bei den Mikrowellenschwingungen der Cäsium-Atomuhren, wird eine erhebliche Steigerung in der Genauigkeit, Stabilität und Zuverlässigkeit erreicht.

Bei einer optischen Gitteruhr werden Strontium- oder ähnliche Atome in den Interferenz­maxima zweier Laserstrahlen festgehalten. In diesem so genannten „optischen Gitter“ kann dann die Schwingungsfrequenz des atomaren „Pendel“, d.h. die Absorptionsfrequenz der Atome, sehr genau bestimmt werden – derzeit mit einer Genauigkeit von 17 Stellen. 

Abbildung1: Schematische Darstellung eines optischen Gitters. Die Atome werden in den Intensitätsmaxima der stehenden Welle des optischen Gitters gefangen. Bei der „magischen Wellenlänge“ ist die Verschiebung durch das Fallenlicht für beide Zustände des Uhrenübergangs genau gleich, und die Linie kann ungestört beobachtet werden.

Die Schwingungsfrequenz des Isotops 87Sr stellt bereits heute eine so genannte „sekundäre Repräsentation“ der Zeiteinheit der internationalen Einheitensystems dar und beträgt ν0 = 429 228 004 229 873,2 Hz. Die Unsicherheit von 0,22 Hz, mit der diese Frequenz bekannt ist, wird dabei durch die Cäsium-Atomuhren begrenzt, welche die physikalischen Größen Zeit bzw. Frequenz darstellen. Tatsächlich müssen optische Atomuhren bereits heute direkt miteinander verglichen werden, um ihre Genauigkeit voll ausnutzen zu können.

Die Arbeitsgruppe entwickelt und betreibt derzeit vornehmlich zwei optische Gitteruhren auf Basis von Strontiumatomen. Im Fokus der einen Uhr stehen die stetige Verbesserung von Genauigkeit und Stabilität von Strontiumatomuhren sowie die Erprobung neuer Technologien und Techniken. Während diese Uhr ausschließlich im Labor an der PTB betrieben wird, ist die zweite Uhr transportabel und kann z. B. an andere Forschungsinstitute gebracht werden, um dort Messungen durchzuführen. Das Ziel ist dabei, einerseits ein für den Transport ausreichend kompaktes und zuverlässiges System zu entwickeln, andererseits jedoch bestmögliche geringe Genauigkeit oder Stabilität zu erhalten.

Mehrere hochstabile Lasersysteme, die als „Uhrwerk“ der Atomuhren dienen, werden gemeinsam mit der Arbeitsgruppe 4.31 entwickelt.

Beide Uhren kommen außerdem im Rahmen zahlreicher Kooperationen und weitergehender Forschungen zum Einsatz. Dazu gehören z. B. Vergleiche unterschiedlicher optischer Uhren sowie Fernvergleiche zwischen verschiedenen Instituten, die wichtige Schritte auf dem Weg zu einer zukünftigen Neudefinition der ‚Sekunde‘ darstellen und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Arbeitsgruppen 4.34, 4.41, 4.42 und 4.43 sowie dem QUEST-Institut an der PTB und anderen internationalen Partnern erfolgen. Darüber hinaus kommen optische Atomuhren auch bei der Erforschung fundamentaler Fragestellungen der modernen Physik, wie der Vereinheitlichung von Allgemeiner Relativität und Quantenphysik, sowie in der neuartigen relativistischen Geodäsie, d.h. Erdvermessung unter Ausnutzung relativistische Effekte, zur Anwendung.

ProjekteProjekte

Die Arbeitsgruppe verfolgt zahlreiche Forschungsvorhaben in Kooperation mit der QUEST-Leibniz-Forschungsschule der Leibniz Universität Hannover, zahlreichen Metrologieinstituten und Forschungsgruppen weltweit, sowie der europäischen Weltraumagentur.

Relativistic Geodesy and Gravimetry with Quantum Sensors

Gemeinsam mit der Leibniz Universität Hannover und anderen Partnern erforschen verschiedene Arbeitsgruppen der PTB im Rahmen des Sonderforschungsbereichs 1128 Relativistic Geodesy and Gravimetry with Quantum Sensors (geo-Q) neuartige Methoden der Quantenmetrologie für die Untersuchung von Gravitationsfeldern. Insbesondere im Bereich der relativistischen Geodäsie, d.h. der Erdvermessung durch Ausnutzung der allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie, bieten sich durch die Fortschritte optischer Atomuhren faszinierende Möglichkeiten.

Fundamentals and Applications of Ultra-cold Matter

Als Teil des Graduiertenkollegs 1729 arbeitet die Arbeitsgruppe mit einer Vielzahl anderer Forschungsgruppen aus den Bereichen Metrologie, Quantenoptik, Atom- und Molekülphysik  an der PTB und der Leibniz Universität Hannover zusammen. Schwerpunkt der Forschung sind Grundlagenforschung mit ultrakalten Gasen und ihre Anwendungen. Zu den Hauptzielen gehört es dabei die Doktoranden der beteiligten Arbeitsgruppen früh in die Spitzenforschung einzubinden zu vernetzen. Durch zahlreiche Seminare und Vorlesungsreihen mit internationalen Gastsprechern soll ihnen zudem ein ebenso breites wie tiefes Verständnis des Forschungsgebiets vermittelt werden.

International Timescales with Optical Clocks

Innerhalb des Europäischen Metrologie-Forschungsprogramms EMRP untersuchen wir im Projekt ITOC, welche Voraussetzungen erfüllt werden müssen, um die Basiseinheit Sekunde zukünftig mit optischen Uhren zu realisieren. Hierzu führen wir umfangreiche Vergleiche optischer Uhren durch und entwickeln transportable Uhren als sogenannte Transfernormale.

Quantum Engineered States for Optical Clocks and Atomic Sensors

QESOCAS ist ebenfalls ein Projekt im ERMP, bei dem fortschrittliche Quantentechnologien zur Verbesserung optischer Uhren eingesetzt werden sollen. Der Fokus liegt auf einem intensven Austausch mit verschiedenen universitären Gruppen, die führend bei der Verschränkung atomarer Ensembles für spektroskopische Zwecke sind.

Space Optical Clocks 2

In SOC2 entwickeln wir in einem großen europäischen Konsortium eine besonders kompakte und leistungseffiziente Strontium-Gitteruhr. Mit diesem Aufbau wird die Technologie optischer Uhren bezüglich ihrer Weltraumtauglichkeit vorangetrieben. Bei SOC handelt es sich um eine sogenannte „candidate mission“ für die internationale Raumstation ISS, d.h. SOC bewirbt sich in Konkurrenz zu anderen Kandidaten um einen Flug der Uhr zur ISS.

Optical Clocks 18

Mit OC18 werden wir unsere Arbeiten aus ITOC im Europäischen Metrologieprogramm für Innovation und Forschung EMPIR fortsetzen. Der Fokus der Arbeiten wird sich auf die Reduktion der relativen Messunsicherheiten der optischen Uhren in den niedrigen 10-18-Bereich liegen. Insbesondere wird unsere Arbeitsgruppe eine kryogene Strontium-Uhr betreiben, in der die bislang größte systematische Frequenzverschiebung aufgrund der Wechselwirkung mit der thermischen Strahlung der Umgebung praktisch eliminiert wird.

Initial Training Network FACT

Im Projekt ITN-FACT arbeiten wir mit anderen Partner aus Forschung und Industrie daran die Technologie optischer Atomuhren im Hinblick auf kommerzielle Nutzung und zukünftige Anwendungen weiterzuentwickeln. Dabei steht die Förderung und Vernetzung junger Forscher der beteiligten Partnerinstitutionen im Vordergrund.

Bachelor/Master/Doktor-ArbeitenBachelor/Master/Doktor-Arbeiten

Eine Aufstellung der in der Arbeitsgruppe durchgeführten Promotionen findet sich unter Publikationen. Wenn Sie an einer Promotion bei uns Interesse haben oder z.B. Ihre Masterarbeit durchführen möchten, bewerben Sie sich bitte bei uns.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Im Bereich dieser Arbeitsgruppe werden keine Dienstleistungen erbracht. Die Dienstleistungen des Fachbereichs und der anderen Arbeitsgruppen werden auf den jeweiligen Webseiten beschrieben.

Nach oben

Informationen

Stationäre Uhr

Durch die genaue Vermessung der Reaktion der Frequenz des Uhren­übergangs auf das Wärme­strahlungs­feld der Umgebung, konnten die relative Unsicherheit der Stronium-Gitteruhr der PTB auf wenige 10-17 verringert werden (siehe Publikationen). Die Ergebnisse werden von allen Gruppen mit Strontium-Gitteruhren in der Welt genutzt, um die Genauigkeit ihrer Strontium-Uhren zu verbessern. Wir arbeiten jetzt daran, andere Un­sicher­heits­beiträge weiter zu verringern, indem die frequenz­ver­schiebenden Effekte genauer untersucht und kontrolliert werden.

Durch den Vergleich unseres Frequenznormals mit den primären Uhren der PTB und anderen optischen Uhren können wir neue Erkenntnisse über z. B. Fragen nach zeitlichen Variationen von Naturkonstanten erhalten.

Transportable Uhr

Da optische Atomuhren eine Genauigkeit erreichen, die höher ist, als die Genauigkeit der primären Uhren, müssen diese für Vergleiche mit der vollen Genauigkeit direkt verglichen werden. Vergleiche räumlich entfernter Uhren können über Glasfasern stattfinden oder mit einer transportablen Uhr.

Die Entwicklung transportabler Uhren ist neben diesen metro­logischen Anwendungen auch für die Grundlagenforschung mit Uhren z. B. im Weltraum von Interesse. Wir planen außerdem, unsere transportable Uhr für Anwendungen in der Geodäsie zu nutzen, wobei der Gangunterschied zweier Uhren aufgrund ihrer unterschiedlichen Höhe (Gravitations-Rotverschiebung) vermessen wird. Angestrebt wird dabei langfristig eine Höhenauflösung von unter 10 cm, was einer relativen Unsicherheit der Frequenz von weniger als 10-17 entspricht.

Nach oben