Logo PTB

Electromagnetic Fields and Antenna Measuring Techniques

Working Group 2.21

Profile

Since the basic work of J. C. MAXWELL (1831 - 1879) and the practical realization of H. HERTZ (1857 - 1894) it is known that electromagnetic waves can propagate without transmission lines and without any medium in free space at the speed of light. Especially the frequency range between ca. 10 kHz and 100 GHz (radio frequency) is increasingly used for communications (radio broadcast, television, mobile phone and other wireless communications of all kind) and for other special tasks in private households, industry and medicine. All these applications cannot be dismissed from one’s thoughts in modern life. Despite the rapid increase of the number of electronic devices and emitters they are not allowed to due any harm to humans nor to interfere with each other. In the future it can be expected that frequencies in the THz region (100 GHz – 3 THz) will be used which is still mostly unused.

To fulfill this fundamental task of a disturbance-free coexistence of many technical facilities at the same location the PTB makes its technical contribution. The tasks of the working group 2.21 include:

Opens internal link in current windowField Probes: Realization and Transfer of Radio Frequency Field Strength

Opens internal link in current windowElectromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) of equipment

Opens internal link in current windowCalibration of Pulsed Measurement Quantities

Opens internal link in current windowAntenna Measuring Techniques

Opens internal link in current windowResearch Activities

To top

Research/Development

To top

Services

To top

Information

PTB conducts field exposition experiments together with cooperation partners from biology. The task of PTB is to guarantee an exact dosimetry during exposition. For further information about this subject matter, e. g. personal security guidelines and prescriptive field strength limits we refer to:

Opens external link in new windowBfS - Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz (Federal Office for Radiation Protection)

Opens external link in new windowBAuA - Bundesanstalt für Unfallschutz und Arbeitsmedizin (Federal Institute for Occupational Safety and Health)

Opens external link in new windowBNetzA - Bundesnetzagentur (Federal Network Agency)

 

 Opens internal link in current windowPublications of the Working group 2.21

 Opens internal link in current windowPublications about electromagnetic fields and Antenna measurements

To top

Logo PTB

Elektromagnetische Felder und Antennenmesstechnik

Arbeitsgruppe 2.21

Profil

Seit den grundlegenden theoretischen Untersuchungen von J. C. MAXWELL (1831 - 1879) und der praktischen Realisierung durch H. HERTZ (1857 - 1894) ist bekannt, dass sich elektromagnetische Felder als Wellen ohne Führung durch eine Leitung und ohne materielles Trägermedium mit Lichtgeschwindigkeit im freien Raum ausbreiten können. Insbesondere der Frequenzbereich von ca. 10 kHz bis über 100 GHz ("Hochfrequenz") wird heute immer intensiver zur Nachrichtenübertragung (Rundfunk, Fernsehen, Mobiltelefon, sonstige drahtlose Kommunikation aller Art), zur Funkortung (Radar, Satellitennavigation) und für weitere spezielle Zwecke in Privathaushalten, Industrie und Medizin genutzt. Alle diese Anwendungen sind aus dem modernen Leben nicht mehr wegzudenken - trotz schneller Zunahme der Zahl elektronischer Geräte und Sender dürfen sie jedoch dem Menschen nicht schaden und sich gegenseitig nicht stören. In Zukunft ist mit der Nutzung von Frequenzen im THz-Bereich (100 GHz – 3 THz) zu rechnen, der derzeit noch nahezu unerschlossen ist.

Zur Erfüllung dieser grundlegenden Forderungen für ein störungsfreies Nebeneinander vieler technischer Einrichtungen am selben Ort leistet die PTB ihren technischen Beitrag. Das Aufgabengebiet der Arbeitsgruppe Elektromagnetische Felder und Antennenmesstechnik umfasst die folgenden Bereiche:

Opens internal link in current windowFeldstärkemesstechnik: Darstellung und Weitergabe der Hochfrequenzfeldstärke

Opens internal link in current windowElektromagnetische Verträglichkeit (EMV)

Opens internal link in current windowKalibrierung pulsförmiger Messgrößen

Opens internal link in current windowAntennenmesstechnik

Opens internal link in current windowForschungsaktivitäten

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Nach oben

Informationen

Bei der Untersuchung der biologischen Wirkungen elektromagnetischer Felder (EMVU, "Elektrosmog") führt die PTB zusammen mit Kooperationspartnern aus dem Bereich der Biologie Feldexpositionsversuche durch. Aufgabe der PTB ist es dabei, eine möglichst exakte Dosimetrie während der Exposition sicherzustellen. Für weitere Informationen über diese Thematik, z.B. Personenschutz-Vorschriften und Feldstärke-Grenzwerte, sei verwiesen auf:

Opens external link in new windowBfS - Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz

Opens external link in new windowBAuA - Bundesanstalt für Unfallschutz und Arbeitsmedizin

Opens external link in new windowBNetzA - Bundesnetzagentur

 

 Opens internal link in current windowVeröffentlichungen der Arbeitgruppe 2.21

 Opens internal link in current windowLiteraturliste zu elektromagnetischen Feldern und Antennenmesstechnik

Nach oben