Logo PTB

Mass - Dissemination of the Unit

Department 1.1

Tasks

Topic of department 1.1 „Mass – dissemination of the unit“ are the tools used for the dissemination and use of the mass units – weighing instruments. Balances used in trade are under governmental control since antiquity to prevent deception. Today these instruments are presumably the mostly regulated instruments at all.

Even in the 19th century weighing instruments were divided into “automatic” and “non-automatic” weighing instruments. This distinction can be found as well in the today’s European regulations concerning those instruments. The automatic weighing instruments are regulated in the so-called measuring instrument directive, MID (2014/32/EU), whereas the non-automatic weighing instruments have their own directive, the NAWID (2014/31/EU). Both directives were transposed into national law via the new Mess- und Eichgesetz and determine under what preconditions weighing instruments may be put into use and used in the framework of legal metrology.

The department realizes tests and conformity assessments of weighing instruments and respective modules in the framework of the conformity assessment body of PTB (KBS). This includes tests and assessments on the basis of the mentioned European directives, but as well on the basis of international recommendations (OIML) and the German verification law (Mess- und Eichgesetz). Contact person for this sector is Dr. Mack (phone: +49 531 592 1143, Opens window for sending emailwaagen(at)ptb.de).

To meet the requirements of conformity assessments and guidance of interested parties (verification authorities, ministries, manufacturers etc.) the department is active in respective bodies of legal metrology (e.g. WELMEC, OIML) and national and international standardization.

Show Working GroupsHide Working Groups

Logo PTB

Masse – Weitergabe der Einheit

Fachbereich 1.1

Aufgaben

Thema des Fachbereichs 1.1 „Masse – Weitergabe der Einheit“ sind die Werkzeuge zur Weitergabe und Verwendung der Masseeinheiten, die Waagen. Im Handel verwendete Waagen werden schon seit der Antike „staatlich“ überwacht, um Betrug zu verhindern. Heute sind sie die wohl am stärksten regulierten Messgeräte überhaupt.

Bereits seit dem 19. Jahrhundert werden Waagen in „selbsttätige“ und „nicht-selbsttätige“ Waagen unterschieden. Diese Unterscheidung findet sich ebenfalls in den heutigen europäischen Regelungen zu diesen Geräten. Während die selbsttätigen Waagen in der sogenannten Messgeräterichtlinie, MID (2014/32/EU) geregelt sind, gibt es für den Einsatz von nicht-selbsttätigen Waagen eine eigene Richtlinie, die NAWID (2014/31/EU). Beide Richtlinien sind im Mess- und Eichgesetz in nationales Recht übertragen worden, und legen fest, unter welchen Umständen Waagen im gesetzlich geregelten Bereich („eichpflichtig“) in Verkehr gebracht und verwendet werden dürfen.

Der Fachbereich führt Prüfungen und Konformitätsbewertungen von Waagen und Waagenmodulen im Rahmen der Aktivitäten der Konformitätsbewertungsstelle der PTB durch. Dazu gehören Prüfungen und Bewertungen im Rahmen der genannten europäischen Richtlinien, aber auch auf der Grundlage internationaler Empfehlungen (OIML) und des deutschen Mess- und Eichgesetzes. Ansprechpartner dafür ist Herr Dr. Mack
(Tel.: 0531 592 1143, Opens window for sending emailwaagen(at)ptb.de).

Um den Aufgaben im Rahmen der Konformitätsbewertung und der Beratung interessierter Kreise (Eichbehörden, Ministerien, Hersteller etc.) gerecht werden zu können, ist  der Fachbereich in entsprechenden Gremien des gesetzlichen Messwesens (z.B. WELMEC, OIML) und der nationalen und internationalen Normung aktiv.

Arbeitsgruppen anzeigenArbeitsgruppen verbergen

Arbeitsgruppen