Logo PTB

Ionizing Radiation

Division 6

Almost everything dealt with at Division 6 centres on the nucleus, for here radioactivity, dosimetry and metrology of alpha, beta, gamma, X and neutron radiation are concerned - from radiation therapy in medicine to the measurement of radioactivity in the environment.


The Division is concerned with the metrology of ionizing radiation. Important tasks cover measuring techniques for the detection of ionizing radiation, dosimetry for radiotherapy, radiodiagnostics and radiation protection, radiation measurements in the environment, activity measurements and the determination of atomic and nuclear data. The units of activity, fluence rate, air kerma, absorbed dose and dose equivalent are realized and disseminated via calibrations. The Division thus ensures the uniformity of measurements in the field of ionizing radiation.

Legal tasks are based on the Units and Time Act, the Verification Act, the Medical Products Act, the Radiology and the Radiation Protection Ordinance and the Radiation Protection Preventive Act. Activity standards for about 50 radionuclides are produced and made available. The Division performs type testing of X-ray equipment, X-ray tube assemblies, parasitic X-ray emitters, area and personal dosemeters, and dosemeters for radiodiagnostics. In addition, the Division deals with fundamental research work in the fields of radioactivity, dosimetry and metrology of alpha, beta, gamma, X-ray and neutron radiation.


The dosimetry of ion beams with the aid of ionization chambers has, to this date, not yet achieved the same precision as dosimetry of conventional, high-energy photon beams. This is mainly caused by the relatively large measurement uncertainty of the kQ,Q0 factor, which accounts for the different responses of ionization chambers to the radiation quality Q used (here: 12C), compared to the...

[ more ]
More news

Logo PTB

Ionisierende Strahlung

Abteilung 6

Fast alles ist in Abteilung 6 eine Frage des Kerns, denn es geht hier um Radioaktivität, um Dosimetrie und Metrologie der Alpha-, Beta-, Gamma-, Röntgen- und Neutronenstrahlung – von der Strahlentherapie in der Medizin bis zur Messung der Radioaktivität in der Umwelt.

Aufgaben

Aufgabe der Abteilung ist die Metrologie ionisierender Strahlung. Wichtige Aufgabengebiete sind die Messtechnik zum Nachweis ionisierender Strahlung, die Dosimetrie für die Strahlentherapie, die Strahlendiagnostik und den Strahlenschutz, Strahlungsmessungen in der Umwelt, Aktivitätsmessungen und die Bestimmung von für die Metrologie wichtigen Stoffdaten. Es werden die Einheiten der Aktivität, der Teilchenfluenz, der Luftkerma, der Energiedosis und der Äquivalentdosis dargestellt und über Kalibrierungen weitergegeben. Die Abteilung sichert damit die Einheitlichkeit von Messungen im Bereich ionisierender Strahlung.

Gesetzliche Aufgaben basieren auf dem Einheiten- und Zeitgesetz, dem Mess- und Eichgesetz, dem Medizinproduktegesetz, der Röntgen- und Strahlenschutzverordnung sowie dem Strahlenschutz-Vorsorgegesetz. Es werden Aktivitätsnormale für ca. 50 Radionuklide bereitgehalten und abgegeben. Die Abteilung führt Bauartprüfungen von Röntgenstrahlern, Röntgeneinrichtungen, Störstrahlern, Orts- und Personendosimetern sowie Diagnostikdosimetern durch. Weiterhin befasst sich die Abteilung mit Grundlagenforschung auf den Gebieten Radioaktivität, Dosimetrie und Metrologie der Alpha-, Beta-, Gamma-, Röntgen- und Neutronenstrahlung.

Nachrichten

Bis heute hat die Dosimetrie von Ionenstrahlen mit Hilfe von Ionisationskammern noch nicht die gleiche Präzision erreicht wie die Dosimetrie von konventionellen, hoch-energetischen Photonenstrahlen. Dies liegt maßgeblich an der relativ großen Messunsicherheit des kQ,Q0-Faktors, welcher das unterschiedliche Ansprechvermögen von Ionisationskammern auf die verwendete Strahlungsqualität Q (hier: 12C)...

[ mehr ]
Weitere Nachrichten

Fachbereiche & ArbeitsgruppenFachbereiche & Arbeitsgruppen