Logo PTB

Analysis of key comparisons

Working Group 8.42

Content

Key comparisons are interlaboratory comparisons carried out regularly between National Metrology Institutes (NMIs) within the framework of the CIPM Mutual Recognition Arrangement (Opens external link in new windowMRA). The MRA has meanwhile been signed by more than 98 institutes. Key comparisons enable enable the mutual recognition of calibrations, measurements, and test certificates  of the NMIs and mark a major step in supporting international trade, commerce and regulatory affairs. In order to ensure the compatibility of the measurement capabilities provided by NMIs, the MRA prescribes that key comparisons are carried out on a regular basis. Based on the analysis of the data from a key comparison, the corresponding calibration and measurement capabilities  (Opens external link in new windowCMCs) of NMIs are validated. The final report and the supporting technical data of each key comparison are stored and made publicly available at the key comparison data base Opens external link in new windowKCDB of the Bureau International des Poids et Mesures (Opens external link in new windowBIPM). Fig. 1 shows a typical example of key comparison data.

Example data of a key comparison along with the key comparison reference value (KCRV).
Fig.1 Example data of a key comparison along with the key comparison reference value (KCRV). The blue results indicate control measurements made by the so-called pilot laboratory.

The goal of the analysis of KC data is to assess the results reported by the participating laboratories. According to the MRA, a so-called key comparison reference value (KCRV) is usually calculated. On the basis of the measurement results including the stated measurement uncertainty, the KCRV is then used to calculate the degrees of equivalence (DoEs) as the difference between the results reported by the laboratories and the KCRV, along with the uncertainties associated with these differences. The DoEs quantify the extent to which the laboratories are compatible, and they can also be viewed as a measure to judge whether the laboratories measure as well as they claim. If a DoE significantly differs from zero, the (CMC of the) corresponding laboratory is considered to be not approved.

More generally, the analysis of KCs can be seen as a Opens external link in new windowMeta-Analysis in which the results reported by the participating laboratories are assessed. Methods employed for meta-analyses, such as fixed effects or random effects models, have also been proposed for the analysis of key comparisons. Simpler methods such as the mean, the median or the weighted mean have also been employed for the calculation of a KCRV. Methods that have been applied for the analysis of KCs also include approaches based on the explicit or implicit removal of outliers.

The “Guide to the Expression of Uncertainty in Measurement“ (Opens external link in new windowGUM) constitutes the main guidelines for uncertainty evaluation in metrology, and its recent supplements approach the Bayesian point of view. Bayesian methods have also been suggested for the analysis of KCs. When applying a Bayesian approach, a so-called (posterior) distribution is derived for the unknown quantities such as the DoEs, cf. Figure 2.

Example posterior distributions for the degrees of equivalence (DoEs) obtained by a Bayesian inference of the data from Fig.1.
Fig. 2: Example of posterior distributions for the degrees of equivalence (DoEs) obtained by a Bayesian inference of the data from Fig.1.

Current and future research in the analysis of KC data comprises the adequate selection of a prior distribution when employing Bayesian inference. This includes the elicitation of available prior knowledge, but also the choice of adequate noninformative priors. Other research directions include the use of non-normal distributions leading to more robust analysis procedures, or the optimal design of key comparisons.

To top

Software

Bayesian hypothesis testing for key comparisons

The assessment of the calibration and measurement capabilities of a laboratory based on a key comparison can often be viewed as carrying out a classical hypothesis test. PTB Working Group 8.42 has developed an alternative Bayesian approach for hypothesis testing which has the advantage that it can include prior assessment about the capabilities of the laboratories participating in the key comparison. In order to ease the application of the proposed Bayesian hypothesis testing for key comparisons, corresponding MATLAB and R Initiates file downloadsoftware is made available. The software is able to take into account correlations within the key comparison results as well as different prior probabilities of the laboratories. The software also provides routines to enter the key comparison data as well as a graphical representation of the results. 

Related Publication

G. Wübbeler, O. Bodnar and C. Elster (2016). Bayesian hypothesis testing for key comparisons. Metrologia 53(4), [DOI: 10.1088/0026-1394/53/4/1131].

To top

Publications

O. Bodnar, A. Link, B. Arendacká, A. Possolo and C. Elster
Statistics in Medicine, 39(2),
378--399,
2017.
O. Bodnar and C. Elster
AStA Advances in Statistical Analysis, published online
1--20,
2016.
J. Wright, B. Toman, B. Mickan, G. Wübbeler, O. Bodnar and C. Elster
Metrologia, 53(6),
1243,
2016.
G. Wübbeler, O. Bodnar and C. Elster
Metrologia, 53(4),
1131--1138,
2016.
G. Wübbeler, O. Bodnar, B. Mickan and C. Elster
Metrologia, 52(2),
400--405,
2015.
L. Spinelli, M. Botwicz, N. Zolek, M. Kacprzak, D. Milej, P. Sawosz, A. Liebert, U. Weigel, T. Durduran, F. Foschum, A. Kienle, F. Baribeau, S. Leclair, J.-P. Bouchard, I. Noiseux, P. Gallant, O. Mermut, A. Farina, A. Pifferi, A. Torricelli, R. Cubeddu, H.-C. Ho, M. Mazurenka, H. Wabnitz, K. Klauenberg, O. Bodnar, C. Elster, M. Bénazech-Lavoué, Y. Bérubé-Lauzière, F. Lesage, D. Khoptyar, A. A. Subash, S. Andersson-Engels, P. Di Ninni, F. Martelli and G. Zaccanti
Biomedical optics express, 5(7),
2037--53,
2014.
O. Bodnar and C. Elster
Metrologia, 51(5),
516--521,
2014.
K. Jousten, K. Arai, U. Becker, O. Bodnar, F. Boineau, J. A. Fedchak, V. Gorobey, W. Jian, D. Mari, P. Mohan, J. Setina, B. Toman, M. Vivcar and Y. H. Yan
Metrologia, 50(1A),
07001--07001,
2013.
O. Bodnar, A. Link, K. Klauenberg, K. Jousten and C. Elster
Measurement Techniques, 56(6),
584--590,
2013.
C. Elster and B. Toman
Metrologia, 50(5),
549--555,
2013.
I. Lira, A. G. Chunovkina, C. Elster and W. Wöger
IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement, 61(8),
2079--2084,
2012.
B. Toman, J. Fischer and C. Elster
Metrologia, 49(4),
567--571,
2012.
C. Elster and B. Toman
Metrologia, 47(3),
113--119,
2010.
C. Elster, A. G. Chunovkina and W. Wöger
Metrologia, 47(1),
96--102,
2010.
A. G. Chunovkina, C. Elster, I. Lira and W. Wöger
Measurement Techniques, 52(7),
788--793,
2009.
A. G. Chunovkina, C. Elster, I. Lira and W. Wöger
Metrologia, 45(2),
211--216,
2008.
H.-J. von Martens, C. Elster, A. Link, A. Täubner and T. Bruns
Metrologia, 43(1A),
09002-09002,
2006.
C. Elster, W. Wöger and M. G. Cox
Measurement Techniques, 48(9),
883--893,
2005.
H.-J. von Martens, C. Elster, A. Link, W. Wöger and P. J Allisy
Metrologia, 41(1A),
09002,
2004.
C. Elster, A. Link and W. Wöger
Metrologia, 40(4),
189,
2003.
C. Elster, A. Link and H.-J. von Martens
Measurement Science and Technology, 12(10),
1672,
2001.
C. Elster and A. Link
Measurement Science and Technology, 12(9),
1431,
2001.
Export as:
BibTeX, XML
To top

Logo PTB

Analyse internationaler Ringvergleiche („key comparisons“)

Arbeitsgruppe 8.42

Inhalt

Internationale Ringvergleiche („key comparisons“) sind Vergleichsmessungen zwischen Laboratorien verschiedener metrologischer Staatsinstitute (NMIs), die im Rahmen des „Mutual Recognition Arrangement“ (Opens external link in new windowMRA) regelmäßig durchgeführt werden. Das MRA wurde inzwischen von mehr als 98 Instituten unterzeichnet. Internationale Ringvergleiche ermöglichen die gegenseitige Anerkennung von  Kalibrierungen und Zertifikaten der metrologischen Staatsinstitute. Sie sind ein wichtiger Schritt bei der Unterstützung von internationalem Handel und gesetzlichem Messwesen. Um die Kompatibilität der Messmöglichkeiten der NMIs zu garantieren, legt das MRA fest, dass Ringvergleiche regelmäßig durchgeführt werden. Basierend auf der Analyse der Daten der Ringvergleiche werden auch die Kalibrier- und Messgenauigkeiten (Opens external link in new windowCMCs) der NMIs validiert. Die Abschlussberichte und technischen Daten zu abgeschlossenen Ringvergleiche sind in der Datenbank Opens external link in new windowKCDB am Bureau International des Poids et Mesures (Opens external link in new windowBIPM) gespeichert und öffentlich zugänglich. Abbildung 1 zeigt ein typisches Beispiel von Ringvergleichsdaten.

Beispieldaten eines Ringvergleiches zusammen mit dem Referenzwert (KCRV).
Abb. 1: Beispieldaten eines Ringvergleiches zusammen mit dem Referenzwert (KCRV). Die Kontrollmessungen des sogenannten Pilotlaboratoriums sind blau markiert.

Das Ziel einer Analyse von Ringvergleichsdaten ist es, den Grad der Übereinstimmung („degree of equivalence“) zwischen den teilnehmenden Laboratorien zu bestimmen. Auf Basis der Messergebnisse einschließlich der angegebenen Messunsicherheiten wird dann ein Referenzwert („key comparison reference value“ , KCRV) bestimmt, der gemäß MRA zur Berechnung der „degrees of equivalence“ (DoEs) als Differenz zwischen den Messergebnissen der Laboratorien und dem KCRV zu verwenden ist. Die entsprechenden Unsicherheiten von Differenzen sind ebenfalls bestimmt. Die DoEs quantifizieren inwieweit die Laboratorien kompatibel sind. Sie können auch für die Beurteilung, ob die Laboratorien so gut messen, wie sie es angeben, verwendet werden. Falls ein DoE signifikant von Null abweicht, wird das CMC des entsprechenden Laboratoriums als nicht validiert angesehen.

Allgemein kann die Analyse von Ringvergleichen als eine Opens external link in new windowMetaanalyse betrachtet werden. Gängige Methoden für Metaanalysen (z.B. „fixed effects model“ oder „random effects model“) wurden ebenfalls für die Analyse von Ringvergleichen vorgeschlagen. Häufig werden aber einfachere Methoden, wie z. B. der Mittelwert, der Median oder das gewichtete Mittel für die Berechnung eines KCRV eingesetzt. Zu Methoden, die für die Analyse von Ringvergleichen angewendet werden, gehört auch die explizite oder implizite Entfernung von Ausreißern.

Der „Guide to the Expression of Uncertainty in Measurement“ (Opens external link in new windowGUM) ist die Leitlinie für die Unsicherheitsberechnung in der Metrologie. Neuere Ergänzungsdokumente zum GUM nähern sich der Bayesschen Sichtweise an. Bayessche Methoden wurden ebenfalls schon für die Analyse von Ringvergleichen vorgeschlagen. Bei einem Bayesschen Ansatz wird eine sog. Posterior-Verteilung für die unbekannten Größen, wie z. B. die DoEs, abgeleitet, vgl. Abbildung 2.

Beispiel von Posterior-Verteilungen der „degrees of equivalence“ (DoEs.)
Abb. 2: Beispiel von Posterior-Verteilungen der „degrees of equivalence“ (DoEs), die durch einen Bayes-Ansatz für die Daten aus Abb. 1 erhalten worden sind.

Aktuelle und zukünftige Forschung bei der Bayesschen Analyse von Ringvergleichen umfasst unter anderem die Wahl eines Priors. Dies beinhaltet die Beschreibung von verfügbarem Prior-Wissen durch eine Wahrscheinlichkeitsfunktion oder die Auswahl eines geeigneten nichtinformativen Priors. Ein anderer Aspekt ist die Verwendung von Verteilungen, die über die Normalverteilung hinausgehen und zu robusteren Verfahren führen.

Nach oben

Software

Bayessche Hypothesenprüfung für Ringvergleiche

Die bei der Analyse von Ringvergleichen eingesetzten Verfahren zur Überprüfung der Mess- und Kalibrierfähigkeit eines Labors  können häufig als Anwendung eines klassischen Hypothesentests angesehen werden. In der PTB Arbeitsgruppe 8.42 ist eine alternative Bayessche Methodik zur Hypthesenprüfung bei Ringvergleichen entwickelt worden. Der Vorteil dieser neuen Methode besteht darin, dass Vorwissen über die am Ringvergleich teilnehmenden Labore in der Auswertung  berücksichtigt werden kann. Um die Anwendung der Bayesschen Methodik für Hypothesentests zu erleichtern werden entsprechende  MATLAB- und R-Implementierungen zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Initiates file downloadSoftware ermöglicht die Berücksichtigung von Korrelation und unterschiedlichen Prior-Wahrscheinlichkeiten für die Labore. Die Software beinhaltet auch Routinen zur Eingabe der Daten des Ringvergleichs sowie zur graphischen Aufbereitung  der Ergebnisse. 

Zugehörige Publikation

G. Wübbeler, O. Bodnar and C. Elster (2016). Bayesian hypothesis testing for key comparisons. Metrologia 53(4), [DOI: 10.1088/0026-1394/53/4/1131].

Nach oben

Publikationen

O. Bodnar, A. Link, B. Arendacká, A. Possolo and C. Elster
Statistics in Medicine, 39(2),
378--399,
2017.
O. Bodnar and C. Elster
AStA Advances in Statistical Analysis, published online
1--20,
2016.
J. Wright, B. Toman, B. Mickan, G. Wübbeler, O. Bodnar and C. Elster
Metrologia, 53(6),
1243,
2016.
G. Wübbeler, O. Bodnar and C. Elster
Metrologia, 53(4),
1131--1138,
2016.
G. Wübbeler, O. Bodnar, B. Mickan and C. Elster
Metrologia, 52(2),
400--405,
2015.
L. Spinelli, M. Botwicz, N. Zolek, M. Kacprzak, D. Milej, P. Sawosz, A. Liebert, U. Weigel, T. Durduran, F. Foschum, A. Kienle, F. Baribeau, S. Leclair, J.-P. Bouchard, I. Noiseux, P. Gallant, O. Mermut, A. Farina, A. Pifferi, A. Torricelli, R. Cubeddu, H.-C. Ho, M. Mazurenka, H. Wabnitz, K. Klauenberg, O. Bodnar, C. Elster, M. Bénazech-Lavoué, Y. Bérubé-Lauzière, F. Lesage, D. Khoptyar, A. A. Subash, S. Andersson-Engels, P. Di Ninni, F. Martelli and G. Zaccanti
Biomedical optics express, 5(7),
2037--53,
2014.
O. Bodnar and C. Elster
Metrologia, 51(5),
516--521,
2014.
K. Jousten, K. Arai, U. Becker, O. Bodnar, F. Boineau, J. A. Fedchak, V. Gorobey, W. Jian, D. Mari, P. Mohan, J. Setina, B. Toman, M. Vivcar and Y. H. Yan
Metrologia, 50(1A),
07001--07001,
2013.
O. Bodnar, A. Link, K. Klauenberg, K. Jousten and C. Elster
Measurement Techniques, 56(6),
584--590,
2013.
C. Elster and B. Toman
Metrologia, 50(5),
549--555,
2013.
I. Lira, A. G. Chunovkina, C. Elster and W. Wöger
IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement, 61(8),
2079--2084,
2012.
B. Toman, J. Fischer and C. Elster
Metrologia, 49(4),
567--571,
2012.
C. Elster and B. Toman
Metrologia, 47(3),
113--119,
2010.
C. Elster, A. G. Chunovkina and W. Wöger
Metrologia, 47(1),
96--102,
2010.
A. G. Chunovkina, C. Elster, I. Lira and W. Wöger
Measurement Techniques, 52(7),
788--793,
2009.
A. G. Chunovkina, C. Elster, I. Lira and W. Wöger
Metrologia, 45(2),
211--216,
2008.
H.-J. von Martens, C. Elster, A. Link, A. Täubner and T. Bruns
Metrologia, 43(1A),
09002-09002,
2006.
C. Elster, W. Wöger and M. G. Cox
Measurement Techniques, 48(9),
883--893,
2005.
H.-J. von Martens, C. Elster, A. Link, W. Wöger and P. J Allisy
Metrologia, 41(1A),
09002,
2004.
C. Elster, A. Link and W. Wöger
Metrologia, 40(4),
189,
2003.
C. Elster, A. Link and H.-J. von Martens
Measurement Science and Technology, 12(10),
1672,
2001.
C. Elster and A. Link
Measurement Science and Technology, 12(9),
1431,
2001.
Export als:
BibTeX, XML
Nach oben