zum Seiteninhalt

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt

StructureDiv. 4 Optics > 4.4 Time and Frequency
Time and Frequency
Department 4.4

Tasks

The main task of the Department Time and Frequency is the realization and dissemination of the base unit time (the second) and the dissemination of legal time in the Federal Republic of Germany.

The second is defined as the duration of 9 192 631 770 periods of the radiation corresponding to the transition between the two hyperfine levels of the ground state of the 133Cs atom. For realizing and disseminating the unit of time, the department develops and operates caesium atomic clocks as primary standards of time and frequency. In the past decades, these have served as the world's most accurate clocks and they contribute substantially to the international atomic time scale TAI.

To realize the unit of time, PTB operates four primary Cs clocks: two clocks based on a thermal atomic beam (CS1 and CS2) and two clocks that use laser cooled atoms (fountain clocks CSF1 and CSF2) whose uncertainty is approximately a factor of 10 lower than that of the thermal Cs clocks (relative frequency uncertainty below 1ยท10-15). These clocks provide the basis for German legal time. The legal time is disseminated to the public and to various users in industry, commerce and research through the low-frequency radio transmitter DCF77, the internet, a fixed-line telephone service, and satellite links.

The next generation of atomic clocks will most likely be based on transitions of atoms and ions in the optical range. Optical frequency standards based on single laser-cooled ytterbium ions are presently being developed in the Department together with the means to convert their optical frequencies without error to the radiofrequency range or 1-pulse-per-second signals. Moreover the Department coordinates the research project. "High-accuracy optical clocks with trapped ions", which is financed by the EU in the frame of EMRP.

One expects that transitions between the energy levels of the atomic nucleus are even better shielded from external perturbations than the transitions in the electron shell which have been used so far as atomic clock references. For a future generation of atomic clocks we therefore investigate a transition in the nucleus of 229Th  that lies in the ultraviolet spectral range.     

The work of the Department is complemented by research into precision time transfer techniques and by tests of fundamental physical theories through precise frequency measurements. This research is funded in the frame of several international projects and nationally through the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).



Contact

Head of Department Dr. Ekkehard Peik
Phone: +49-531 592-4400
E-Mail: ekkehard.peik@ptb.de

Secretariat Eva-Maria Berber
Phone: +49-531 592-4401
Fax: +49-531 592-4479
E-Mail: eva-maria.berber@ptb.de 

Address Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
Fachbereich 4.4
Bundesallee 100
38116 Braunschweig
Germany

© Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt, last update: 2014-06-26, Webmaster Abteilung 4 Seite drucken PrintviewPDF-Export PDF

zum Seiteninhalt

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt

FachabteilungenAbt. 4 Optik > 4.4 Zeit und Frequenz
Zeit und Frequenz
Fachbereich 4.4

Aufgaben

Hauptaufgabe des Fachbereichs ist die Realisierung und Weitergabe der Einheit der Zeit (Sekunde), sowie die Darstellung und Verbreitung der gesetzlichen Zeit in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Die Sekunde ist definiert durch das 9 192 631 770fache der Periodendauer der dem Übergang zwischen den beiden Hyperfeinstrukturniveaus des Grundzustands von 133Cs-Atomen entsprechenden Strahlung. Für die Realisierung und Weitergabe der Zeiteinheit werden Cs-Atomuhren als primäre Normale für Zeit und Frequenz entwickelt und betrieben. Sie haben in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten als genaueste Uhren der Welt die internationale Atomzeit TAI maßgeblich beeinflusst.

Die PTB betreibt vier primäre Cs-Uhren, mit denen die Zeiteinheit realisiert wird: Zwei Uhren mit thermischem Atomstrahl (CS1 und CS2) und zwei Uhren mit lasergekühlten Atomen (Cs-Fontänenuhren CSF1 und CSF2), deren Unsicherheit die der thermischen Cs-Uhren um etwa einen Faktor 10 unterschreitet (ihre relative Frequenz-Unsicherheit ist besser als 1.10-15). Diese Uhren  bilden die Grundlage für die gesetzliche Zeit in Deutschland. Die Weitergabe der gesetzlichen Zeit an die Bevölkerung und an Nutzer in Industrie, Wirtschaft und Forschung erfolgt über den Langwellensender DCF77, das Internet, einen Telefonzeitdienst und über Satellitenverbindungen.

Atomuhren der Zukunft werden wahrscheinlich auf Übergängen von lasergekühlten gespeicherten Ionen im optischen Spektralbereich basieren. Solche optischen Frequenznormale werden derzeit im Fachbereich entwickelt, zusammen mit den Methoden die optischen Frequenzen fehlerfrei auf elektronisch zählbare Frequenzen und 1-Sekunden-Impulse zu übertragen. Außerdem koordiniert der Fachbereich das von der EU im Rahmen des EMRP geförderte Forschungsprojekt "High-accuracy optical clocks with trapped ions".

Wir erwarten, dass Übergänge in Atomkernen noch besser von Störungen durch die Umgebung abgeschirmt sind, als die gegenwärtig benutzten Übergänge in der Elektronenhülle. Für Atomuhren der Zukunft versuchen wir daher einen Kernübergang von 229Th zu nutzen, der im ultravioletten Spektralbereich liegt.

Die Arbeit des Fachbereichs wird ergänzt durch Forschung im Bereich der Präzisions-Zeitübertragungstechniken und durch Tests grundlegender physikalischer Theorien durch hochgenaue Frequenzmessungen. Diese Arbeiten werden unterstützt im Rahmen mehrerer internationaler Projekte und durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft.

Der Fachbereich beteiligt sich an der Versuchsphase des europäischen Satelliten-Navigationssystems Galileo und an der Vorbereitung der ESA-Mission ACES (Atomic Clock Ensemble in Space).



Kontakt

Fachbereichsleiter Dr. Ekkehard Peik
Tel.: 0531 592-4400
E-Mail: ekkehard.peik@ptb.de

Sekretariat Eva-Maria Berber
Tel.: 0531 592-4401
Fax: 0531 592-4479
E-Mail: eva-maria.berber@ptb.de 

Anschrift

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
Fachbereich 4.4
Bundesallee 100
38116 Braunschweig


© Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt, letzte Änderung: 2014-02-26, Webmaster Abteilung 4 Seite drucken DruckansichtPDF-Export PDF