Logo PTB

Validation of Metrological Software

Working Group 8.54

Profile

The working group is dealing with validations of complex software products in the domain of metrology. Especially, the increasing number of special validations of software programs supporting the GUM (Guide to the expression of uncertainty in measurement) is provided for. A main task is the development and application of the required testing environment and the continuous advancement and maintenance of the environment.

The current revision of ISO/IEC 17025 is reinforcing the importance of software validations in PTB laboratories. In this regard, the working group is performing supporting and consulting services for PTB laboratories in the scope of software validations as part of quality audits concerning ISO/IEC 17025.

Further tasks are:

  • Provide advice for working group 8.51 (Metrological Software),
  • Provide support for department Q.5 (Technical Cooperation).
  • Representation of PTB in DIN standardisation committees (Software Engineering, Health Informatics),
  • Performing assessments/audits in favour DAkkS (German Accreditation Body) and other European accreditation bodies (subject area Software Engineering).


To top

Research/Development

The working group is developing methods and practicable procedures for the validation of software products implementing or partially supporting the GUM (Guide to the expression of uncertainty in measurement). The compiled procedures are assimilated in an automated testing environment. Major topics of the work are the derivation and analysis of appropriate software requirements. In order to provide support for software manufacturers before the development of GUM implementing software products, a guideline regarding the correct and GUM compliant implementation of such software products is elaborated.

To top

Services

The working group provides supporting services for manufacturers of software products implementing the GUM (Guide to the expression of uncertainty in measurement). The development as well as the validation of such software programs is supported.
In the scope of quality audits related to ISO/IEC 17025, the working group supports the audit processes of PTB laboratories concerning the increasing importance of software applied in the laboratories.
The working group 8.54 is performing supporting and consulting services for the working group 8.51 (Metrological Software) and for the department Q.5 (Technical Cooperation). Furthermore, the group provides assessors for DAkkS (German Accreditation Body) and other European accreditation bodies (subject area Software Engineering).

To top

Information

References

[1]  N. Greif, H. Schrepf: Validierung von Softwareprogrammen für die Ermittlung der Messunsicherheit, tm - Technisches Messen, DE GRUYTER Oldenbourg, 83(2), 112-120, 2016.
[2] N. Greif, H. Schrepf: A test environment for GUM conformity test. PTB-Bericht IT-19en, Juli, 2015.
[3] N. Greif, H. Schrepf: GUM conformity of software products - a discussion from a software tester's perspective, ACTA IMEKO, Vol. 2, No. 2, 34-40, 2013.
[4] ISO/IEC Guide 98-3:2008: Uncertainty of measurement - Part 3: Guide to the expression of uncertainty in measurement; Evaluation of measurement data -Guide to the expression of uncertainty in measurement; JCGM 100:2008.

 

Standardisation committees:


DIN NA 043-01-07, Information Technology, Software and System Engineering,
DIN NA 063-07-01, Health Informatics, Horizontal Technical Committee,
DIN NA 063-07-02, Health Informatics, Interoperability.

To top

Logo PTB

Validierung metrologischer Software

Arbeitsgruppe 8.54

Profil

Die Arbeitsgruppe konzentriert sich auf Validierungen von komplexen Softwareprodukten aus den Bereichen Metrologie bzw. Messtechnik. Dabei wird insbesondere der stetigen Zunahme der Validierungen von Softwareprogrammen, die den GUM (Guide to the expression of uncertainty in measurement) unterstützen, Rechnung getragen. Eine Hauptaufgabe ist die Entwicklung und Anwendung der dafür notwendigen Testumgebung sowie deren kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung und Pflege.
Auch die aktuelle Revision der ISO/IEC 17025 verstärkt die Bedeutung von Softwarevalidierungen in den Fachlaboren der PTB. In diesem Zusammenhang erbringt die Arbeitsgruppe Unterstützungs- und Beratungsleistungen für die Fachlabore bei der notwendigen Validierung metrologischer Software im Rahmen von Auditierungen nach ISO/IEC 17025.


Weitere Aufgaben sind:

  • Beratung der Arbeitsgruppe 8.51 (Metrologische Software),
  • Unterstützung des Fachbereichs Q5 (Internationale Zusammenarbeit),
  • Vertretung der PTB in DIN-Gremien (Software Engineering, Medizinische Informatik),
  • Durchführung von Begutachtungen für die DAkkS (Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle) und andere europäische Akkreditierungsstellen (Fachgebiet Software Engineering).

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Die Arbeitsgruppe entwickelt Methoden und praktizierbare Verfahren für die Validierung von Softwareprodukten, die den GUM (Guide to the expression of uncertainty in measurement) implementieren oder teilweise unterstützen. Die entwickelten Verfahren werden in einer automatisierten Testumgebung implementiert. Ein Hauptgegenstand der Arbeiten ist die Ableitung und Analyse entsprechender Softwareanforderungen. Um den Softwareherstellern schon vor der Erstellung der den GUM unterstützenden Softwareprogramme Hilfestellung zu geben, wird ein Leitfaden für die korrekte (GUM-konforme) Implementierung derartiger Softwareprodukte in Form einer Softwarespezifikation erarbeitet.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Die Arbeitsgruppe stellt Dienstleistungen für Hersteller von Softwareprodukten, die den GUM (Guide to the expression of uncertainty in measurement) implementieren,  bereit. Sie unterstützt dabei sowohl die Entwicklung als auch die Validierung derartiger Softwareprogramme.
Im Rahmen des auf die ISO/IEC 17025 bezogenen Qualitätsmanagements unterstützt die Arbeitsgruppe die Auditierung der Fachlabore der PTB im Hinblick auf die zunehmende Bedeutung der in den Laboren eingesetzten Software.
Die Arbeitsgruppe erbringt Beratungs- und Unterstützungsleistungen für die Arbeitsgruppe 8.51 (Metrologische Software) und den Fachbereich Q5 (Internationale Zusammenarbeit). Sie stellt Begutachter für das Fachgebiet Software Engineering für die DAkkS (Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle) und andere europäische Akkreditierungsstellen.

Nach oben

Informationen

Referenzen:

[1]  N. Greif, H. Schrepf: Validierung von Softwareprogrammen für die Ermittlung der Messunsicherheit, tm - Technisches Messen, DE GRUYTER Oldenbourg, 83(2), 112-120, 2016.
[2] N. Greif, H. Schrepf: A test environment for GUM conformity test. PTB-Bericht IT-19en, Juli, 2015.
[3] N. Greif, H. Schrepf: GUM conformity of software products - a discussion from a software tester's perspective, ACTA IMEKO, Vol. 2, No. 2, 34-40, 2013.
[4] ISO/IEC Guide 98-3:2008: Uncertainty of measurement - Part 3: Guide to the expression of uncertainty in measurement; Evaluation of measurement data -Guide to the expression of uncertainty in measurement; JCGM 100:2008.

 

Gremien:


DIN NA 043-01-07, Informationstechnik, Software- und System-Engineering
DIN NA 063-07-01, Medizinische Informatik, Horizontaler Arbeitsausschuss
DIN NA 063-07-02, Medizinische Informatik, Interoperabilität

Nach oben