Logo PTB

Imaging and Wave Optics

Department 4.2

Tasks

There are three main centers of activity of the Department:

Form and wavefront metrology
Measurement of the form of optical surfaces and of optical wavefronts with uncertainties in the nanometre and sub-nanometre range. In addition, specific measurement tasks are performed to characterize optical components and materials, amongst others polarimetry and refractometry.

Optical nanometrology
Measurement of the size of surface structures in the µm and sub-µm range with optical methods. Imaging (microscopy) and nonimaging (scatterometry, ellipsometry) techniques with wavelengths from the visible to the deep ultraviolet spectral range are used.
An additional task is the Opens internal link in current windowsize measurement of nanoparticles using scanning electron microscopy which is performed together with the Department 5.2 Dimensional Nanometrology.

Avogadro
For a consortium of national metrology institutes, the Department is in charge of an international project dealing with the redefinition of the Avogadro constant on the basis of highly enriched silicon-28. Within the scope of this project, the Department has taken on the particular subproject "Precise determination of the 28Si lattice parameter". Transfer of the developed technologies to applications in industry and society is also a part of the Department's tasks.

In all fields of activity, basic research is carried out, new measuring methods are developed, research projects in co-operation with industry are realized and calibration services are offered.

Show Working GroupsHide Working Groups

Logo PTB

Bild- und Wellenoptik

Fachbereich 4.2

Aufgaben

Es gibt drei Aufgabenschwerpunkte im Fachbereich:

Form- und Wellenfrontmetrologie
Messung der Form optisch glatter Oberflächen und optischer Wellenfronten mit Unsicherheiten in der Größenordnung von Nanometern und Sub-Nanometern. Hinzu kommen Messaufgaben zur optischen Charakterisierung von optischen Komponenten und Materialien, u.a. Polarimetrie und Refraktometrie.

Optische Nanometrologie
Messung der Größe von Oberflächenstrukturen im µm- und Sub-µm-Bereich. Hierbei werden sowohl Lichtmikroskopie als auch Streulichtverfahren vom sichtbaren bis in den tiefen ultravioletten Spektralbereich eingesetzt.
Zusätzliche Aufgabe ist die Opens internal link in current windowGrößenmessung von Nanopartikeln mit der Rasterelektronenmikroskopie, die in Kooperation mit Fachbereich 5.2 Dimensionelle Nanometrologie bearbeitet wird.

Avogadro
Der Fachbereich arbeitet im Konsortium von metrologischen Staatsinstituten in einem internationalen Projekt zur Neubestimmung der Avogadrokonstanten auf der Basis von hochangereichertem 28-Silicium mit. Innerhalb dieses Projekts hat der Fachbereich das Teilprojekt „Präzisionsbestimmung des 28Si Gitterparameters“ übernommen. Die Übertragung der entwickelten Technologien auf Anwendungen in Industrie und Gesellschaft ist ebenfalls Teil seiner Aufgaben.

Für alle Aufgabenschwerpunkte werden Grundlagenuntersuchungen durchgeführt, Messverfahren entwickelt und Messungen und Kalibrierungen für Industrie und Wissenschaft ausgeführt. Forschungsprojekte werden oft in Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie durchgeführt.

Arbeitsgruppen AnzeigenArbeitsgruppen Verbergen