Logo PTB

Light Intensity Unit

Working Group 4.12

Profile

The working group is responsible for the realisation, maintenance and dissemination of the physical measurement quantity luminous intensity and its SI unit, the Candela, as well of its derived quantities illuminance and luminance. With the help of suitable transfer standards (light sources or measurement devices) the units and the photometric responsivity of calibrated measurement devices, respectively, are dissiminated to customers from industry and science. The traceability of new measurement methods in the field of photometry as well as the development of new transfer standards for innovative (e.g. LED-based) lighting is part of its business. Strong collaboration in national and international bodies and committees are used to exert influence in photometry and radiometry.

To top

Research/Development

Characterisation of novel light sources

Besides lifetime, aging behaviour, spectrum of light and colour of light, the electrical and photometrical data are crucial for the assessment of the suitability of light sources for general lighting. Traceable measurements used to validate algorithms of manufacturers used for proficiency testing of their products during the production process create confidence in labelling and assist manufacturers in the product development.

New measurement methods

The development of novel photometers combined with laser-based spectral characterization enables PTB to reduce measurement uncertainties of the realised SI Base-Unit Candela. The investigation of measurement uncertainties of measurements where novel measurement devices (like array-spectroradiometers, Imaging Luminance Measuring Devices (ILMD)) and new measurement techniques (like near-field goniophotometry) are used, is one of the tasks where collaboration with other working groups of PTB and with measurement device manufacturers are focused on.

To top

Services

Calibration

The calibration of transfer standards for traceability to national units for the photometric measurands luminous intensity, illuminance and luminance is routinely provided.

Committees

Active collaboration in national and international committees (like Opens external link in new windowCIE, Opens external link in new windowDIN, Opens external link in new windowISO, Opens external link in new windowCEN, Opens external link in new windowEURAMET und Opens external link in new windowCCPR) aiming at the creation of standards and recommendations helpful for the society is perceived as a service to the society.
Opens external link in new windowCommittee work

Accreditation/Survey

The working group supports the Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle (Opens external link in new windowDAkkS) to survey calibration laboratories for photometric and colourimetric quantities and characteristic numbers.

To top

Information

Photometer bench

 

  • The more than 40 m long photometer bench can be separated by gates and used individually.
  • Three transverse benches, Y-bench-system and lamp turning device, to mount calibration goods, transfer standards and measurement devices.
  • Two lamp houses with high power lamps (halogen lamp, for illuminant A up to 20 klx; HMI, for day-light application, up to 100 klx)

 

Integrating sphere photometer

  • Two spheres with a diameter of 1.5 m and 2.5 m.
  • Coatings made of barium sulfate (BaSO4) with ρ = 0.87 bzw. ρ = 0.95, respectively.
  • Lock-in technique for auxiliary lamp available.

To top

Logo PTB

Photometrie

Arbeitsgruppe 4.12

Profil

Die Arbeitsgruppe ist zuständig für die Realisierung, Darstellung und Weitergabe der physikalischen Messgröße Lichtstärke und deren SI-Einheit Candela sowie der hiervon abgeleiteten Messgrößen Beleuchtungsstärke und Leuchtdichte. Mit Hilfe geeigneter Transfernormale (Lichtquellen oder Messgeräte) gibt sie diese Einheiten bzw. die photometrischen Empfindlichkeiten der kalibrierten Messgeräte an Kunden aus Industrie und Forschung weiter. Die Rückführung neuer Messverfahren im Bereich der Photometrie gehört ebenso zu ihren Aufgaben wie die Entwicklung neuer Transfernormale für innovative (z.B. LED basierte) Lichttechnik. Über die Mitarbeit in nationalen und internationalen Gremien (z.B. DIN, CIE, CCPR) übt sie Einfluss auf Normung und Richtlinien im Bereich Photometrie und Radiometrie aus.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Charakterisierung neuartiger Lichtquellen

Lebensdauer, Alterungsverhalten, Strahlungsfunktion und Lichtfarbe sind neben den elektrischen und photometrischen Daten entscheidend für die Bewertung der Eignung von Lichtquellen für Beleuchtungsanwendungen. Rückgeführte Messungen ermöglichen den Herstellern eine Validierung der von Ihnen verwendeten Messverfahren zur Bewertung und Qualitätssicherung ihrer Produkte. Dies schafft Vertrauen bei der Produktkennzeichnung und unterstützt Hersteller bei der Produktentwicklung.

 

Neue Messverfahren

Die Entwicklung neuartiger Photometer und deren lasergestützte spektrale Charakterisierung erlaubt kleinere Messunsicherheiten bei der Realisierung der SI Basiseinheit Candela. Die Untersuchung von Messunsicherheiten beim Einsatz moderner Messgeräte (wie Array-Spektroradiometer, Leuchtdichtemesskameras) und Messverfahren (wie Nahfeld-Goniophotometrie) ist ein Schwerpunkt, der in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Arbeitsgruppen der PTB und den Messgeräteherstellern bearbeitet wird.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Kalibrierungen

Die Kalibrierung von Transfernormalen zur Rückführung auf nationale Einheiten für die photometrischen Größen Lichtstärke, Beleuchtungsstärke und Leuchtdichte wird routinemäßig angeboten.

Gremien

Die aktive Mitwirkung in nationalen und internationalen Gremien (wie Opens external link in new windowCIE, Opens external link in new windowDIN, Opens external link in new windowISO, Opens external link in new windowCEN, Opens external link in new windowEURAMET und Opens external link in new windowCCPR) mit dem Ziel Normen und Standards im Interesse der Gesellschaft mit zu gestalten wird als Dienstleistung für die Gesellschaft verstanden.
Opens external link in new windowPTB-Gremiendatenbank

Akkreditierung/Begutachtung

Die Arbeitsgruppe unterstützt die Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle (Opens external link in new windowDAkkS) bei der Begutachtung von Kalibrierlaboratorien für photometrische und farbmetrische Größen und Kennzahlen.

Nach oben

Informationen

Photometerbank

  • Drei Segmente, durch Rolltore trennbar; Gesamtlänge über 40 m.
  • Drei Querbänke, Y-Bank-System und Leuchtenwender zur Installation von Kalibriergütern, Transfernormale und Messgeräte.
  • 2 Lampenhäuser mit Hochleistungslampen (Halogen, entsprechend Normlicht A bis 20 klx; HMI, für Tageslicht bis 100 klx).

Kugelphotometer (Ulbricht’sche Kugel)

  • 2 Ulbicht-Kugeln mit Durchmessern von 1,5 m und 2.5 m.
  • Beschichtungen aus Bariumsulfat (BaSO4) mit ρ = 0,87 bzw. ρ = 0,95.
  • Lock-In Technik für Hilfslampe verfügbar.

Nach oben