Logo PTB

Mechanics and Acoustics

Division 1

Weight, force, velocity, loudness -€“ the mechanical and acoustic quantities are cared for by Division 1. Apart from basic research, testing within the scope of legal metrology is a main task.

Tasks

The Division carries out basic research in the field of mechanical and acoustical measurands. On the basis of the Units and Time Act, standards and standard measuring devices are developed with the aid of which the measurement scales for all relevant mechanical and acoustical measurands such as mass, force, torque, acceleration, flowrate of gases and liquids, sound and ultrasound pressure can be realized with maximum accuracy and disseminated, predominantly to DAkkS laboratories. The tasks of the Division also comprise type examinations and certifications of measuring instruments on the basis of national regulations - such as the Verification Act and the Verification Ordinance - of European Measuring Instruments Directives as well as international recommendations of the OIML. In addition, employees of the Division provide advice in all matters of relevant metrology, assess DAkkS and other calibration and test laboratories and cooperate in the respective national and international committees.

News

The sound emission of technical devices, machinery and equipment has to be declared for purposes of environmental protection, occupational health and consumer information. An upper limit for the sound emission is legally binding for some machines used outdoors. The descriptor for sound emission is the sound power level, which is measured by internationally harmonised methods. A disadvantage of...

[ more ]

Within the scope of the EU joint project titled Ears II (EMPIR project No. 15HLT03), hearing tests were planned at PTB in order to investigate how humans perceive infrasound (frequencies f below 20 Hz) combined with sound in the "conventional" acoustic frequency range (i.e."audible sound" in the frequency range 20 Hz ≤ f ≤ 20 kHz). The first step consisted in developing a sound source system able...

[ more ]

PTB is developing a measurement procedure to determine airborne ultrasound exposure at the workplace and is hereby pursuing an open-science strategy in order to make the research data and results freely available to the public. In this way, the development and testing of this procedure, which was designed for occupational safety and health, becomes transparent and comprehensible. Furthermore, it...

[ more ]
More news

DepartmentsDepartments

Logo PTB

Mechanik und Akustik

Abteilung 1

Wie schwer, wie stark, wie schnell, wie laut? Die mechanischen und akustischen Größen sind in Abteilung 1 zu Hause. Neben Grundlagenforschung geht es vor allem auch um Prüfungen im gesetzlichen Messwesen.

Aufgaben

Die Abteilung führt Grundlagenforschung auf dem Gebiet der mechanischen und akustischen Messgrößen durch. Auf der Basis des Einheiten- und Zeitgesetzes werden Normale und Normalmesseinrichtungen entwickelt, mit denen die Messskalen für alle relevanten mechanischen und akustischen Messgrößen, wie Masse, Kraft, Drehmoment, Beschleunigung, Durchfluss von Gasen und Flüssigkeiten, Schall- und Ultraschalldruck, mit höchster Genauigkeit dargestellt und überwiegend an von der DAkkS akkreditierte Laboratorien weitergegeben werden. Zu den Aufgaben der Abteilung gehören weiterhin Bauartprüfungen und Zertifizierungen von Messgeräten auf der Basis von nationalen Regelungen, wie dem Eichgesetz und der Eichordnung, von europäischen Messgeräte-Richtlinien sowie internationalen Empfehlungen der OIML. Darüber hinaus beraten die Mitarbeiter in allen Fragen der einschlägigen Messtechnik, begutachten DAkkS- und andere Kalibrier- und Prüflaboratorien und sind in entsprechenden nationalen und internationalen Gremien aktiv.

Nachrichten

Der Einfluss einer veränderlichen Temperatur auf die Messung verschiedener Größen ist allgemein bekannt. Präzisionsaufnehmer für die Messung von Drehmomenten zeigen darüber hinaus auch eine messbare Abhängigkeit von der relativen Luftfeuchtigkeit. Im Fachbereich Festkörpermechanik wurden die Effekte ausgiebig untersucht, wobei nicht nur die Sensoren, sondern auch die anderen Teile der...

[ mehr ]

Höhenrekorde bei Gebäuden und Windenergieanlagen, Längenrekorde bei Brücken – immer häufiger werden steigende Anforderungen an die Belastbarkeit von Baumaterialien gestellt. Das ist auch eine Herausforderung für die Materialprüfung, bei der zuweilen Kräfte im zweistelligen Meganewtonbereich auftreten. Die Anlagen, die solche Kräfte erzeugen, müssen rückgeführt und kalibriert werden. Im Fachbereich...

[ mehr ]

Erste Untersuchungen mit einer Hochgeschwindigkeitskamera in einer speziellen Plexiglas-Düse und mit einer Auflösung von bis zu 140.000 Aufnahmen pro Sekunde ermöglichen neuartige Einblicke in das Verhalten einer kavitierenden Flüssigkeitsströmung im Inneren dieser Düse. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil der laufenden Arbeiten im Fachbereich „Flüssigkeiten“, die sich mit...

[ mehr ]
Weitere Nachrichten

Fachbereiche & ArbeitsgruppenFachbereiche & Arbeitsgruppen